When you are using Discord, you will obviously want a seamless session of chatting or streaming. To make the whole session smooth and hassle-free, you may need to block someone. You can block someone on Discord to ignore connections with that person. When someone is bothering you or getting on your nerves, you should block that person quickly.
But you may wonder about what happens when you block someone on Discord as knowing about it is essential. It is best to block a person when you do not want to hear anything from that specific person. No matter which device you use, you can block any user through both the Discord software version and the web version.
Why You May Need to Block Someone on Discord and the Types of Blocking
There can be several reasons why you may require to block any user on Discord. When the presence of any particular member is aggressive and threatening, blocking becomes a must. If your privacy is in danger because of any member, you need to block that user to ensure your safety.
You can block someone on Discord mobile as well if you feel the necessity. The other reasons why you may need to block someone on Discord are:
- When someone is not expected, or you don’t want to connect with that particular user
- If any user misbehaves with you or tries to harass you, you need to block that person as early as possible
- To get yourself free from the toxic behavior of any Discord user
- You should block someone when that person starts bullying or behaves aggressively
There is the option for blocking someone both permanently and temporarily. When you are blocking someone permanently, the blocking will remain until you unblock the user. On the other hand, you can temporarily block someone for ten days, one month, or the period you want.
Once you set the limit, the person will be unblocked automatically when the restricted time is over. But Discord will notify you before unblocking someone whom you blocked temporarily. It is also possible to block someone on Discord server, which will only be applicable for that particular server.
What Happens When You Block Someone on Discord
By blocking someone on Discord, you can cut off the connection between you and the unwanted person. The things that will happen when you block someone on Discord are:
State-1: Removed from the Friend-List
The person you want to block may be present on your friend list or maybe not. On both occasions, you can block the user you wish to. If the user is present on your friend list, you can remove that person from your friend list instantly by blocking.
State-2: Alert and Notification
You may feel the necessity of blocking any Discord user at any time because of several reasons. If you block any person on Discord, that user won’t get any alert regarding your blocking. Discord authority also won’t send any notification to that person about the incident.
When you block someone on Discord, it means that the user has lost the right to call you. The user can’t ever call you using that account you blocked. You won’t also be able to call that blocked person as well until you unblock that account.
State-4: When you and the blocked user will be on the same server
At some point, you and the blocked user may share the same Discord server. If you are the host of the server, the blocked person won’t be able to enter your server. But when you are not, he/she may enter the server if the host accepts.
On that occasion, all the messages sent from the blocked person on that particular server will be hidden from you only. The same goes for the blocked person as he/she won’t see your messages either on that server.
Blocking someone means you want to cut off the connection between you and the blocked person entirely. Messaging won’t be available for the blocked user either, but he/she will be able to see the older messages.
If the blocked user tries to message you, he/she will get a generic error message. On that message, Discord will notify the blocked person that you are only receiving messages from the people of the friend-list. When you block someone on Discord, he/she can see whether you are online or not, and the same applies to that blocked person.
The blocker also will be able to see the online status of the blocked person.
Will the blocked person get any notification when I block him/her?
You can block any Discord user both permanently and temporarily whether that person is on your friend list or not. Under any circumstances, the blocked person won’t get any alert or notification regarding your blocking. But once in a while, that person will understand that you have blocked him/her.
Can anyone send me messages when I block that person on Discord?
When you block someone on Discord, that person loses the right of contacting you through Discord. The blocked user won’t be able to send you messages or call you via Discord until you unblock. But, he/she can see the older messages along with knowing whether you are online or not.
Blocking the person who is a threat to your privacy and security on Discord is a must. Toxic behavior, bullying someone, aggressive nature are the main reasons for blocking someone. But there is confusion among most of the users about what happens when you block someone on Discord.
Blocking someone means you want to cut off every way of connecting with that person. The blocked user will lose every right to contact the blocker. You can block someone both temporarily and permanently as per your necessity and the situation demand.
Last Updated on by Edward C. Ruiz